Delray Beach Sister Cities presents The 2004 Annual Twilight Safari Dinner

Friday, April 23, 2004

The evening will be alive with sounds and sight of a taste of African Culture featuring guest and many surprises. Cocktails and silent auction begin at 6 PM. Guest are invited to wear African attire. Our former Mayor, David Schmidt, now president of Sister Cities of Delray, will act as Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

1. Guest Speaker Dr. Dallas L. Browne, Ph.D. Honorary Consulate of the United Republic of Tanzania and Associate Professor of Urban Anthropology and Chairman of the Department of Anthropology of Southern Illinois University.

2. Last Year 2003 Annual Safari Dinner enabled the Sister Cities of Delray Beach to ship 453 books, at a cost of $8,990, to the Moshi's Municipal Library, in the United Republic of Tanzania, East Africa.

3. The Annual Art League Competition started at 5:30 PM on April 19th, at Old School Square. Some 30 Tanzanian art drawings reached Delray, but because of short notice 16 of them arrived too late to be judged. Certificates will be issued to each student that enters this drawing contest.

    Below are students who received Certificates of Recognition for their participation in the tri-international cities Annual Art League competition between the Three Siter Cities: Moshi, Miyazu, and Delray Beach...

    2004 Annual Art League Competition winning artwork

    "First Prize Winning Artist Entry Above"
    By: Miss Amy Denton
    Student attending Atlantic Communtiy High School in Delray Beach

    NOTE: The order of the certificates is entirely random — Click on NAME to view each certificates below for each Tanzanian student participating in the art contest:

  1. Innocent B. Mushi
  2. Anna T. Pogaly
  3. Emmanuel D. Steven
  4. Hans C. Ngokeya
  5. Michael A. Kitururu
  6. Joachim A. Mariwa
  7. John Onesmo
  8. Mwema A. Nekiyo
  9. Aden A. Kasonta
  10. Nehemia S. Kihiyo
  11. Primrose M. Mushi
  12. Alice Kihamia
  13. Halima Saguti
  14. Irene Cyril
  15. Husseni Abdallah Juma
  16. Philip Kimathi
  17. Godusten Mtui
  18. Goldiani Daudi
  19. Mira Mgeta
  20. Nicodemi Isaiah Masaoe
  21. David Ernest
  22. Salimu W. Mruma
  23. Denice Alphonce
  24. Fready Hua
  25. Issa B. Saidi
  26. Alfredy J. Mmbaga
  27. Emanuel R. Saria
  28. Godfrey Kiama
  29. Musa A. Mdaile
  30. Paulo M. Abraham

Delray Beach truly appreciates the participation of each student involved and whose name appears above!